Overview:Just one bad decision could land you on the evening news which might cost you your license. The new Code of Conduct was effective December 15, 2014. Are you certain you won’t violate it and possibly lose your license?
The Accountancy Board of Ohio has approved this course to meet the 3 hour requirement for Professional Standards to renew your CPA license. It does NOT qualify for new licenses.
NOTE: Gary Zeune is an approved ethics instructor at www.acc.ohio.gov/CPE/PSR.aspx
This event may be a rebroadcast of a live event and the instructor will be available to answer your questions either during or after the event.
Major Subjects:Learn 5 common and dangerous requirements in the new Code of Conduct and simple ways to comply and protect your CPA license. In addition, we will review actual cases where CPAs made unethical decisions and lost their license, others committed financial reporting fraud and some went to prison. Cases include sole practitioners, local and regional firm CPAs and national firm partners and industry CPAs. Some of the cases that we will discuss include:
- Partner sleeps then goes to prison
- CFO/CPA betrays his ethical duty to make boss happy
- Partner creates fake work papers for peer review
- CPA School Controller goes to prison
- Partner and wife, both CPAs, charged with fraud…..guess which goes to prison
- Small firm managing partner works late one evening and loses everything
- Learn how changing the compensation and control system brought down a CPA firm
- Learn how everyday immaterial amounts that are material ethics violations do not make sense
- Learn how CPAs can be independent in fact but not to a jury
- How “willful blindness” can cost you your CPA license
Designed For:Ohio CPAs required to attend a Professional Standards course to retain their license.
Vendor:CPA Crossings, LLC
Member/Nonmember Fees:129 / 129
CPE:Regulatory Ethics 3 hour(s)
Yellow Book Credit:N
Gary D Zeune, CPA, CFE
Pros & The Cons LLC, The
Cancellation or transfer requests made six(6) business days or more prior to the program, no fee assessed.
Cancellation or transfer requests made two(2) to five(5) business days prior to the program, $25 fee assessed.
Cancellation or transfer requests made one business day prior to the program, $50 fee assessed.
Day of program or no notice of cancellation, 100 percent course fee assessed.
If you transfer from an in-class course to a webcast, the above policies apply.
Remember, the COCPA reserves the right to cancel a course seven days prior to the program date. Please keep this cancellation policy in mind when making your travel plans and airline reservations. The COCPA will not be liable for flight cancellation penalties due to our cancellation.
To cancel or transfer a course, please contact the Member Services department at 303-773-2877 or 800-523-9082.